Words of Stress Mind

Story-of-PTSD-Indonesia

I use a writing process as a therapy to recover from the unexpected trauma of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).  I write about a random theme of PTSD and the kinds of stuff. So, How did I feel after writing down? Yeah, I feel better than before.  It kind likes a meditation process. It’s hard to stay calm and focus. It’s hard to typing and spread the words into the paragraph. After all the process, I feel so good, relax, and feel likes my burdened gone away.

It’s hard for me to describe the messy things, in a messy condition, and create it to be something neat and tidy words. I have a high expectation through the words that come up from my messy mind. Otherwise, I enjoy the process and feels like a therapy for my brain injury.

I read a lot of topic about writing on the internet. I just need to search the keyword, then on a millisecond, then I got tons of article. It’s quite good for me to leverage my writing skill while I never so serious in this field. I know I passed the Bahasa Indonesia and English class with flying colors but I guess it was a bullshit because in a real life I don’t have any resume to prove it right.

I think that article was great. It tells me about how to write a marvelous article (and the same topic). And yes, they nailed it because of they now as professional copywriters. They have lots and incredible resume. So no wonder that they jot down the tips about how to make a good article.  I think maybe they just finished read a format guideline from Associated Press.

Reading the guideline doesn’t make a good writer. It needs a big effort, time, and energy to invest in writing. I know I am not a good writer but I just trying to love and learn it. At least I can write my idea into a piece words.

One of my projects is writing down my experience about suffering from PTSD.  I know I don’t have enough skill on writing as I mentioned before. I know it will be an overwhelming process for me. But I know I have such a great experience about the topic while other people didn’t have experienced, which is it’s my worth inspiration after all.

I think it’s not just about explaining my unseen pain. I think it is an important experience to share with others. PTSD is a very rare case in Indonesia. While the data and information about this mental health also bit not set up as well as a modern nation, let us say the United States. I discovered a lot of journals, articles, and personal stories from this nation. It gives me a good way to better understand about this shit. But I don’t have a good resource here.

I remember about my one of the favorite author on Medium,  Dan Pedersen. He writes lots of about life lesson on Medium. He gives an advice to the readers, that the most important thing is to keep honest on your writing because you already facing it. Now it is your turn to write it into the article.

And yes, it’s an ultimate formula for me. It works so well. I think I am so free to write down every single feeling to a word. It’s quite easy than just following the writing rules. And yes, I never think so much about the grammar, structure, or everything about writing rules. I just keep it honest.

 

Leave a comment